Family Programs

Family Day: Honey I Shrunk the Art  

Saturday, April 8, 1 – 4 pm 
Discover a miniature world of art on an itsy-bitsy tour of the Asian art exhibition Show Me the Mini. Together, make miniature paintings of a treasured place for a tiny person to enjoy. This program is ideal for families with children ages 5 – 11, but all ages are welcome. 

Family Days take place five times per year on select Saturdays and revolve around designated exhibitions and themes. These programs are ideal for families with children ages 5 to 11, but all ages are welcome. A Family Day includes a family-friendly tour of art in our galleries and a related art activity. The program is offered at no charge but a $2 donation per child is suggested.

 

352Creates: Color Your World

Friday, March 24, 11 am – 5 pm 
Pick up a coloring page based on a work of art in the Harn’s collection and get creative in celebration of the community-wide 352Creates project. Color in the museum, or take it to go. Share your creation online using #352creates.

 

Tot Times

Children ages 2 – 5 and their families tour the Harn, exploring color, shape, pattern and other “tot” interests. Tot Time Stories, in partnership with the Alachua County Library District, includes story time, songs and movement. Tot Time Art includes hands-on art projects. Space is limited. Please arrive at least 15 minutes prior to start time to register (we no longer take advance registration). 

 

Tuesday, March 28, 3:30 pm | Museum on the Move

Friday, April 7, 11 am | Museum on the Move
Tuesday, April 25, 3:30 pm | Picturing Me

Friday, May 5, 11 am | Picturing Me
Tuesday, May 30, 3:30 pm | Shape it Up 

Friday, June 2, 11 am | Shape it Up

Tuesday, July 25, 3:30 pm | Sculpture All Around

Friday, August 4, 11 am | Sculpture All Around
Tuesday, August 29, 3:30 pm | Shadow Play

Friday, September 1, 11 am | Shadow Play
Tuesday, September 26, 3:30 pm | Art Smart

Friday, October 6, 11 am | Art Smart
Tuesday, October 31, 3:30 pm | Monster Art Treats (costumes welcome)

Friday, November 3, 11 am | Monster Art Treats (costumes welcome)
Tuesday, November 28, 3:30 pm | Cool Colors

Friday, December 1, 11 am | Cool Color 

 

"Always-on Activities"

Stop by the Bishop Study Center the next time you are at the museum and participate in our always-on activities. Visit the Kids + Families area of our website for a description of activities available.